Board of Directors

Under the Company’s Articles of Association, the Board of Directors consists of five to eight members elected at the Annual General Meeting for a term ending at the following AGM. The Board consists of eight members who were elected for a new term on 5 April 2017.

The shareholdings of the Members of the Board in Neste Corporation on 31.12.2016 include own holdings and controlled entities.

Jorma Eloranta
(born in 1951)

M.Sc. (Tech.)
D.Sc. (Tech.) h.c.
Chair of the Board.
Member of the Board since 2011.
Independent member.
President and CEO of Metso Corporation 2004–2011. President and CEO of Kvaerner Masa-Yards Inc. 2001–2003. President and CEO of Patria Industries Group 1997–2000. Deputy Chief Executive of Finvest Group and Jaakko Pöyry Group 1996. President of Finvest Ltd 1985–1995. Chair of the Board of Suominen Corporation 2011–2017. Chair of the Boards of Stora Enso and Uponor Corporation. Chair of the Board and President of Pienelo Ltd. Vice Chair of the Board of the Finnish Fair Foundation. Member of the Board of Cargotec. Chair of the Personnel and Remuneration Committee's of Neste and Uponor. Chair of the Remuneration Committee of Stora Enso. Member of the Nomination and Compensation Committee of Cargotec. Member of the Financial and Audit Committee of Stora Enso. Member of the Shareholders' Nomination Board of Neste and Stora Enso. Expert member of the Shareholders’ Nomination Board of Uponor. Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board in Finnish Naval Foundation.
Matti Kähkönen
Matti Kähkönen
(born in 1956)

M.Sc. (Engineering).
Vice Chair of the Board.
Member of the Board since 2017.
Independent member.
Senior Advisor, Metso Corporation 2017–. President and CEO, Metso Corporation 2011–2017. Executive Vice President and Deputy to the CEO, Metso Corporation 2010–2011. President, Mining and Construction Technology, Metso Corporation 2008–2011. President, Metso Minerals 2006–2008. President, Metso Automation, 2001–2006. President, Metso Automation, Field Systems Division, 1999–2001. Prior to year 1999, various managerial and development positions in Neles-Jamesbury and Rauma-Repola.

Mr. Kähkönen also holds various positions of trust. He is board member of The Research Institute of the Finnish Economy (EVA/ETLA), Chair of the TT fund of the Confederation of Finnish Industries, Chair of the advisory board of the Tampere University of Technology, and Chair of the super advisory board of the Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company. Member of Neste’s Personnel and Remuneration Committee.
Martina Flöel
Martina Flöel
(born in 1960)

M.Sc. (Chemistry), PhD (Chemistry).
Member of the Board since 2017.
Independent member.
CEO of Oxea 2007–2016. Managing Director and EVP, Europe of European Oxo in 2003–2007. VP Oxo Chemicals, Celanese Chemicals 2000–2003. Plant Manager Böhlen, Celanese Chemicals 1998–2000. Prior to year 1998, various managerial and directorial positions in the Hoechst Group. Member of Neste's Audit Committee.
Laura Raitio
(born in 1962)

M.Sc. (Chem. Eng.), Lic. Tech. (forest products technology).
Member of the Board since 2011.
Independent member.
CEO of Diacor Medical Services 2014–2017. Executive Vice President, Building and Energy 2009–2014 and Member of the Executive Management Team 2006–2014, Ahlstrom. Ahlstrom’s Senior Vice President, Marketing (sales network, human resources, communications and marketing) 2006–2008. Ahlstrom’s Vice President and General Manager for Wallpaper & Poster, Pre-impregnated Decor, Abrasive Base in Osnabrück, Germany 2002–2005. Managing Director of Ahlstrom Kauttua 2001–2002. Several managerial positions within Ahlstrom’s specialty paper business since 1990. Member of the Board of Boardman, Suominen and Raute. Member of the Personnel and Remuneration Committee and Member of Neste's Audit Committee.
Jean-Baptiste Renard
(born in 1961)

M.Sc. (Eng) and an engineering diploma in petroleum economics from the French Petroleum Institute (IFP).
Member of the Board since 2014.
Independent member.
Founder and CEO, 2PR Consulting, independent energy expert and consultant. Several positions at BP 1986–2010; Regional Group Vice President for Europe and Southern Africa BP Plc 2006–2010, Group Vice President, Business Marketing and New Markets, and member of Downstream Executive Committee BP Plc 2003–2006. Non-Executive Director of Masana Petroleum Solutions (South-Africa); Non-Executive Director of IFP Training (France); Non-Executive Director of CLH (Spain); pro bono consulting for social entrepreneurs. Supervisory Board Member of Entreprendre&+. Advisory Board Member of IFP School; Member of Neste’s Personnel and Remuneration Committee.
Willem Schoeber
(born in 1948)

Dr. (Chem. Eng.)
Member of the Board since 2013
Independent member.
Independent business consultant. Formerly Chair of the Boards of Directors of EWE Turkey Holding AŞ, Bursagaz AŞ and Kayserigaz AŞ 2010–2015. Member of the Management Board of EWE AG, responsible for power generation and international business (Turkey and Poland) 2010–2013. Chair of the Management Board at swb AG (Bremen) 2007–2011. Several positions at Royal Dutch Shell Group’s companies 1977–2007, in particular in oil refining. Presently Member of the Supervisory Board of Gasunie N.V. (Groningen) since 2013 and Member of the Board of Directors of Societatea Energetica "Electrica" S.A. (Bucharest) since 2016. Member of Neste’s Audit Committee.
Marco Wirén
(born in 1966)

M.Sc (Econ.)
Member of the Board since 2015.
Independent member.
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Wärtsilä since 2013. SSAB, Executive Vice President and CFO 2008–2013; SSAB, Vice President Business control 2007-2008; Eltel Networks, CFO and VP Business Development 2002–2007; NCC, VP Business Development and Group Controller 1995–2001. Chair of Neste's Audit Committee.