President and CEO and Neste Executive Board

The Neste Executive Board assists the President and Chief Executive Officer in the management and coordination of the implementation of the Neste’s strategic and operational goals. The shareholdings of the Members of the Neste Executive Team including organizations under their control are shown until 2 July 2016 under heading Insiders subject to Declaration Requirement. The present Neste Executive Board consists of the following persons:


Matti Lievonen
(born 1958)

President and CEO, Chair of the Neste
Executive Board
B.Sc. (Eng.), eMBA
D.Sc. (Tech.) h.c.
President & CEO since 1 December 2008
Joined the company in 2008. Served as President of the Fine and Speciality Papers Division at UPM-Kymmene Corporation, and in a number of other senior positions at UPM-Kymmene 1986–2008, and prior to that at ABB. Member of UPM-Kymmene’s Executive Board 2002–2008. Chairman of the Board of Directors of Fortum Corporation and Nynas AB, and Vice Chairman of SSAB AB. Member of the Board of Directors of Solvay Group. Member of the Board of the Chemical Industry Federation of Finland and the European Business Leaders’ Convention. Member of the Advisory Board of National Emergency Supply Agency and East Office of Finnish Industries Oy. Member of the Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA and the Supervisory Board of The Finnish Fair Corporation.
kaisa hietala
Kaisa Hietala
(born 1971)

Executive Vice President, Renewable Products
M.Sc. (Physics), Finland and M.Phil. (Env.Sc.), UK
Member of the Neste Executive Board since 2014.
Joined the company in 1998. Responsible for the Renewable Products business area. Served in several positions at Neste, most recently as Vice President of the Renewable Fuels business 2011–2014, Vice President of Supply and Commercial Director in Singapore 2008–2011 and Feedstock Manager in the Renewable Fuels Business operations 2006–2008. Member of the Board of Kemira Oyj.
Panu Kopra
Panu Kopra
(born 1972)

Executive Vice President, Marketing & Services
Member of the Neste Executive Board since May 2016.
Joined the company in 1996. Responsible for Marketing & Services Business Area. Previously served as Vice President in Oil Retail Sales in Finland and Baltic Rim (2014–2015), Vice President in Oil Retail Russia and Baltic Rim (2010–2014), General Manager in St. Petersburg Russia (2009), Business Development Manager in Renewable Products (2007–2008), Sales Director (2006), General Manager in Latvia (2003–2005) and in several other positions in the company.
Matti Lehmus
Matti Lehmus
(born 1974)

Executive Vice President, Oil Products
M.Sc. (Eng.), eMBA.
Member of the Neste Executive Board since 2009.
Joined the company in 1997. Responsible for the Oil Products business area. Previously served as Executive Vice President of the Oil Products and Renewables business area (2011–2014), Executive Vice President of the Oil Products business area (2009–2010), Vice President of the Base Oils business in the Specialty Products Division (2007–2009), Vice President of Oil Refining Business Development (2007) and Gasoline Exports and Trading Manager (2004–2007) in the Oil Refining Division. Chair of the Board of the Finnish Petroleum & Biofuels Association.
Tuomas Hyyrylainen
Tuomas Hyyryläinen
(born 1977)

Senior Vice President, Emerging Businesses business unit (as of 14 September 2016)
M.Sc. (Econ.)
Member of the Neste Executive Board since 2012.
Joined the company in 2012. Responsible for Emerging Businesses business unit. Previously served as Senior Vice President, responsible for Strategy, New Ventures, Market Intelligence, and M&A operations (2014-2016) and as Senior Vice President, Strategy (2012–2014). Prior to that served as Vice President for Strategy at F-Secure and served in various strategy and business development related positions at Nokia. Member of the Boards of Directors of Nynas AB and Vapo Oy.
Simo Honkanen
(born 1958)

Senior Vice President, Sustainability and Public Affairs
M.Sc. (Econ.)
Member of the Neste Executive Board since 2009.
Joined the company in 2006. Responsible for the Sustainability and Public Affairs activities. Served previously as Vice President, Marketing, Stakeholder Relations and Raw Material Procurement in the Renewable Fuels division 2008–2009, Vice President, New Ventures in the Components Division 2006–2007. Prior to that various positions in Finland and abroad in Shell. Member of the Board of the Smart & Clean Foundation, and Maj and Tor Nessling Foundation.
Hannele Jakosuo-Jansson
Hannele Jakosuo-Jansson
(born 1966)

Senior Vice President, Human Resources and Safety
M.Sc. (Eng.)
Member of the Neste Executive Board since 2006.
Joined the company in 1990. Responsible for the Group's Human Resources and Safety corporate functions. Served as Vice President, Human Resources at Oil Refining (2004–2005) and Laboratory and Research Manager at the Technology Center (1998–2004). Member of the Board of Directors of Ahlstrom-Munksjö.
Osmo Kammonen
Osmo Kammonen
(born 1959)

Senior Vice President, Communications and Brand Marketing
M.Sc. (Laws)
Member of the Neste Executive Board since 2004.
Joined the company in 2004. Responsible for the Group's Communications and Brand Marketing. Served as Senior Vice President, Corporate Communications and Investor Relations; and Communications Manager in various companies in the electronics, engineering, construction materials, and forest products industries.
Lars-Peter Lindfors
Lars Peter Lindfors
(born 1964)

Senior Vice President, Technology
Ph.D. (Tech.), MBA.
Member of the Neste Executive Board since 2009.
Joined the company in 2007. Responsible for Research & Development, Investment Management, Information Technology, Procurement, and Business Processes. Served previously as Senior Vice President, Technology and Strategy (2009–2012), Vice President for the company's Research and Technology unit (2007–2009), Executive Vice President, Renewal and Development at Perstorp Group (2004–2007), Executive Vice President, R&T&D at Perstorp Group (2001–2004), and prior to that at Neste as R&D Manager and various other positions. Member of the Board of the Fortum Foundation and Finnish Foundation for Technology Promotion.
Jyrki Maki-Kala
Jyrki Mäki-Kala
(born 1961)

Chief Financial Officer
M.Sc. (Econ.)
Member of the Neste Executive Board since 2013.
Joined the company in 2013. Responsible for the Group’s strategy, financial management, investor relations, and risk management. Served in various business and corporate financial positions at Kemira (2005–2013). Previously worked for Finnish Chemicals. Member of the Supervisory Board of Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company .
Christian Ståhlberg
Christian Ståhlberg
(born 1974)

General Counsel
Member of the Neste Executive Board since 22 May 2017.
Joined the company in May 2017. Responsible for the Group’s legal affairs. Secretary to the Neste Executive Board, the Board of Directors, the Audit Committee, the Shareholders’ Nomination Board and to the Stakeholder Advisory Panel. Served previously as General Counsel of Rettig Group Ltd (2015–2017), Director, Legal in Pohjola Bank plc (2011–2014), Senior Legal Counsel in Neste Oil Corporation (2007–2011) and Senior Associate in Roschier Attorneys Ltd (1998–2007).